Showing posts with label out of control. Show all posts
Showing posts with label out of control. Show all posts

Saturday, November 5, 2011

The story of the 3-day binge

I'm fully expecting a 3-4 lb gain tomorrow.

Sigh, I just had to put that out there. I've done 2 of my 3 training runs (3rd is scheduled for Sunday) and I even did weights last night after my run. I'm trying to incorporate weight training 2x a week.

But my food choices, oh boy my food choices are horrendous. Coming off the flu last weekend, I was craving white, processed carbs. So that's what I ate. And now, even though my body is back to normal, I haven't gone back to healthy eating. Here's just a selection of what I've eaten over the last few days - and I'm sure I'm forgetting some of it!

Today: 2 pumpkin pancakes with a banana and butter and syrup (unmeasured)

Friday: Banana; 4 mini quiches. 2 mini cinnamon rolls, 1 mini muffin and fruit salad; Green salad with ranch dressing, yeast roll with butter, smashed potatoes, 1/2 pan fried chicken breast, 2 bites of turkey with gravy, brownie and peach cobbler; 1 snack bag chex mix, tootsie roll and another mini cinnamon roll; 2 bowls french onion soup with Swiss cheese and croutons, veggie corn dog, 2 mini chocolate candies; 1 snack bag chex mix

Thursday: Peanut butter and pumpkin butter sandwich; banana; cup of clam chowder and half turkey brie cranberry sandwich; black cherry Chobani; 4% cottage cheese with Triscuts; 2 bowls french onion soup with Swiss cheese and croutons; 1 oreo ball; 2 slices bread with pumpkin butter

Wednesday: Peanut butter and pumpkin butter sandwich; banana; cup of french onion soup with half a baguet and Swiss cheese, slice of cheese pizza with black olives; Honeycrisp apple; 4% cottage cheese with Triscuits; 2 veggie corn dogs and sweet potato fries; 1/2 cup chocolate chip ice cream in "waning" peanut butter jar (1T peanut butter?)

If you want to play Where's Waldo, try to find any veggies in my list up there. Although Wed and Thurs are bad, but Friday is by far the worst. We had an event at work and I pretty much put whatever was in front of me in my mouth.

I know I shouldn't do this, but I've already written today off. I'm heading to a Beer, Bourbon and BBQ fest downtown and I fully intend to enjoy it.

Next week. I am back on it and I am committing for the next 4 weeks to be as close to perfect as possible with both food and exercise. By committing to 4 weeks, it breaks what can be big and overwhelming into a small, manageable thing.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Out of control

Life has been beyond out of control this week.

It started with a binge on baked chips Sunday night. I didn't eat the whole bag, but I ate enough to make me feel crummy.

Then Monday I woke up with a migraine, which just made me feel nauseous. So although I have plenty of stuff to get done at work before I go out of town tomorrow, I took half the day off. Last night I laid down at 7 to take a power hour nap before getting a few things done before bed. Yeah, I didn't get out of bed until 7 am. Although I woke up throughout the night with plenty of pain.

I decided to take today off too, which has only given me more stress and anxiety trying to figure out how to finish everything I need to do tomorrow. I leave for St. Louis after work.

I haven't tracked my food in 2 days.

I haven't exercised in 6 days. Tomorrow it will be a week. And it will be several more days before I exercise again. I feel so guilty about this and it causes a lot of anxiety as I wonder if I'll ever get back to my gym routine (I will).

Basically, I feel completely out of control right now. The only thing that is still going as planned is my diet and nutrition.

...And I have the stomach bug to thank for that.